RIAI Council

What is the RIAI Council and how is it made up?

The primary role of the Council is to develop the vision, strategy and high-level policy for the RIAI. 

Council Members are elected from among the RIAI Membership, the majority being registered Architects. The Council meets at least four times annually. 

The composition of the Council is set out in the Articles of Association section of the Constitution and comprises:

  • The President, the First Vice-President, the Second Vice-President, the Immediate Past-President, the Honorary Secretary and the Honorary Treasurer provided that they be Fellows or Members of the Institute;
  • Ten members to be known as "Ordinary Members of Council", being either Fellows or Members of the Institute;
  • One member to represent each Panel as defined in the Constitution;
  • One member, elected by Council, being either a Fellow or Member of the Institute; and
  • The chairpersons of the Board of Architectural Education, the Board of Architectural Education Admissions Committee, the Architectural Technologist Committee, the Practice and Member Services Committee, the International Affairs Committee and the Architecture and Public Affairs Committee. Where any such chairperson is already elected as a Council Member under any of the preceding categories of Council Members, the Committee in question may appoint an alternate from amongst the members of the relevant Committee to take up the seat on Council.


Name Position
Ciarán O'Connor, FRIAI President
Mícheál de Siún, MRIAI First Vice President
Emma Geoghegan, MRIAI Second Vice President
Charlotte Sheridan, MRIAI Honorary Secretary
Donal Friel, FRIAI Honorary Treasurer
David Browne, FRIAI Past President
Bernadette Egan, MRIAI Ordinary Member
Michael Goan, MRIAI Ordinary Member
Clare Healy, MRIAI Ordinary Member
Paul Keogh, FRIAI Ordinary Member
Anne Kiernan, FRIAI Ordinary Member
Tarla MacGabhann, MRIAI Ordinary Member
Fionnuala May, MRIAI Ordinary Member
Gopal Naidoo, MRIAI Ordinary Member
John O'Mahony, FRIAI Ordinary Member
Claire White, MRIAI Ordinary Member
Michael Wall, FRIAI Council Nominee
Peter Hanna, FRIAI Retired Members and Retired Fellows
Pat Kirwan, RIAI (Arch.Tech.) Architectural Technologists
Eleanor Masterson, MRIAI Employed in Public Sector
Aisling Joyce, MRIAI Architectural Graduates
Claire McManus, MRIAI Members under 40
John McLaughlin, MRIAI Engaged in Teaching
Sinead McLoughlin, MRIAI Employee in Private Sector
Louise Cotter, MRIAI Southern Region
Derek Meenan, MRIAI Northern Region
Lester Naughton, MRIAI Western Region
Martin McKeith, MRIAI Eastern Region
Martin Donnelly, FRIAI Chair, Practice & Member Services Committee
Erik Maher, MRIAI Chair, International Affairs Committee
Shane Santry, FRIAI Chair, Board of Architectural Education
Catherine O'Keeffe-Prunty, RIAI (Arch.Tech.) Chair, Architectural Technologists Committee
Liam Tuite, FRIAI Chair, Architecture & Public Affairs Committee
Cliodhna Rice, MRIAI Observer Architectural Association of Ireland
Paul Crowe, MRIAI Observer RSUA