RIAI Architecture Awards 2020

RIAI Architecture Awards 2020

Celebrating Excellence in Architecture

The annual RIAI Awards are one of the longest running and most prestigious architectural awards in Ireland. The purpose of the Awards is to promote the quality of current work by RIAI Members at home and abroad and to create awareness of the contribution that architects make to society for everyone's benefit. Awards are made over a number of categories and the RIAI Awards offer a fascinating insight into current architectural practice in Ireland and tell the story of what is happening in Ireland’s built environment.

The Awards Shortlist was released in May 2020 and following a public campaign, the Tooting Meadow Housing in Drogheda by McKevitt King Architects, won the coveted RIAI Public Choice Award

Visit the RIAI Awards 2020 Exhibition.


The RIAI Awards Jury

The RIAI Awards Jury is ratified by RIAI Council and consists of Registered Architects and a distinguished guest juror. The jury for the RIAI Architecture Awards 2020 are:

Chair – Liam Tuite, FRIAI
Distinguished Guest Juror – Eugene Downes, Cultural Director, DFAT 
Juror - Susan Dawson, MRIAI
Juror - Ailish Drake, MRIAI
Juror - Rachel Dudley, MRIAI
Juror - David Magennis, MRIAI
Juror - Orla O’Callaghan, FRIAI
Juror - Michael Pike, MRIAI
Juror – Sally Starbuck, MRIAI, Sustainability Task Force
Juror - Gavin Wheatley, MRIAI

The RIAI would like to sincerely thank all entrants, our awards sponsors, the Awards Jury and the specialist juries for the RIAI Research Award, RIAI Urban Design / Masterplanning Award and the RIAI Building for All (Universal Design Award).

If you have any queries about the Awards, please contact Claudia O'Dwyer.

Entry Submissions Closed

Awards Dates 2020

Entries Open
29 January 2020
Entries Close
02 March 2020
Voting Opens for Public Choice Award
19 June 2020
Voting Closes for Public Choice Award
03 July 2020

RIAI Architecture Awards 2020

The closing date for submissions for the RIAI Awards 2020 has now passed.

RIAI Architecture Awards 2020

The RIAI Awards are given annually to acknowledge excellence in design and delivery of buildings practically completed in the previous year. The Awards are organised across 13 categories to recognise diversity of scale and project type. Each completed project is unique, responding to a given set of challenges and opportunities. The jury looks for projects that have produced a creative, intelligent, innovative and quality design response to the fulfilment of the brief.

The shortlisted projects for the RIAI Architecture Awards 2020 can be viewed here.

Visit the RIAI Awards 2020 Exhibition.

Awards Categories

Enter one or more of the following categories: