• 10 Oct 2018

RIAI Announce Winners of the Student Awards 2018

The RIAI announced the winners of the four RIAI Student Awards 2018 for students of Architecture and students of Architectural Technology at the RIAI Annual Conference. The first prize winners were presented on stage by David Browne, RIAI President, accompanied by a representative of each of the award sponsors, on Day 2 of the RIAI Annual Conference on Saturday 6 October.


RIAI Scott Tallon Walker Student Excellence Award in Architecture – Prize fund €5000
This award is sponsored by Scott Tallon Walker Architects in memory of the firm’s three founding partners, Dr Michael Scott, Dr Ronald Tallon and Robin Walker.

The award aims to promote the study of contemporary Architecture, encourage and foster architectural excellence among the student body, encourage and facilitate communications between the schools and provide a basis for growing awareness of the Architecture in society through exhibitions and publications supported by the RIAI. This is the third year of this award in its current format. It seeks to recognise and reward excellence in final year architectural studies and create a platform to showcase the work emerging from Irish schools of Architecture.

WINNER                                                   Stephen Gotting (UCD)
2nd PRIZE                                                Christopher Olden (CCAE)
HIGHLY COMMENDED                           Rachel Tiong Jin Hin (WIT)
HIGHLY COMMENDED                           Andrew Yeoh (WIT)
HIGHLY COMMENDED                           Ferdia Kenny (UCD)

RIAI Rising Star in Architectural Technology sponsored by Soprema – Prize fund €5000
The RIAI Rising Star Award in Architectural Technology Award, sponsored by Soprema, recognises an individual Third Year student of Architectural Technology who exemplifies academic excellence and dedication to the field of Architectural Technology in the national context of Architectural Technologists’ education. Recipients have demonstrated a quality of performance indicating that they are likely to continue to develop into a distinguished member of their profession.

WINNER                                                   Cathal Devine (LyIT)
HIGHLY COMMENDED                           Fahad Alotaibi (IT Carlow)
COMMENDED                                         Nabi Ghnewa (DIT)


RIAI Student Award for Sustainable Design sponsored by Dulux – Prize fund €2500
The RIAI Student Award for Sustainable Design, sponsored by Dulux, aims to recognise the awareness and integration of sustainable design principles by students as an inherent part of their design approach to a project or projects regardless of scale or complexity.

WINNER                                                   Eoin Carney (DIT)
HIGHLY COMMENDED                           Lorena Dondea (DIT)


RIAI Architecture Ireland Student Writing Prize sponsored by Forbo – Prize fund €2500
The RIAI Architecture Ireland Student Writing Prize offered by the editorial board of Architecture Ireland and the RIAI, with support from Forbo, is open to all students of Architecture and Architectural Technology on the island of Ireland. The objective of the prize is to nurture and recognise the importance of writing in Architecture. Students are invited to contribute an article of no more than 1000 words on a theme of their choice – whether a building or a book; an Architect or a movement; both contemporary and historic subject matters will be considered.

WINNER                                                  Poppy Van Dijk (UCD)
2ND PLACE                                            Ryan Dempsey (DIT)
3rd PLACE                                              Patrick Brennan (DIT)
COMMENDED                                        Muireann Dolan (CCAE)
COMMENDED                                        Emily Jones (UCD)
COMMENDED                                        Grainne Smith-Muldowney (SAUL)
COMMENDED                                        David Weldon (CCAE)
SPECIAL MENTION Photo Essay          Robert John James Hamilton (DIT)
SPECIAL MENTION Technical Essay    Ian Kavanagh (DIT)

The RIAI Student Awards are open to students from all the recognised programmes of Architecture in Ireland and RIAI accredited programmes in Architectural Technology and the wide spread of participation this year is most welcome. The RIAI wishes to thank the juries, sponsors and Schools of Architecture and Architectural Technology for their support in the successful delivery of the awards this year.