• 03 Jun 2022

RIAI Welcomes new Honorary Fellows and Honorary Members

The RIAI has awarded three deserving recipients as Honorary Fellows and Honorary Members. Graham Doyle and Ian Pritchard were named as Honorary Members in 2021 and Monica von Schmalensee was named an Honorary Fellow in 2019.

Following the lifting of COVID-19 restrictions, the recipients are receiving their honours today at the Irish Architectural Archive, at 45 Merrion Square, Dublin 2.

LR: RIAI CEO Kathryn Meghen, Ian Pritchard Hon. MRIAI, David Browne FRIAI, Monica von Schmalensee Hon. FRIAI, RIAI President Charlotte Sheridan MRIAI, Ciaran O'Connor FRIAI, Graham Doyle Hon.MRIAI

LR: Ciaran O'Connor FRIA, RIAI President Charlotte Sheridan MRIAI, Graham Doyle Hon.MRIAI

Recipient of the Honorary Member award, Graham Doyle, is the current Secretary General at the Department of Housing, Local Government & Heritage. Graham is responsible for implementing and monitoring government policies relating to the Department of Housing and providing policy advice and statements of strategy to the Minister.

LR: Ciaran O'Connor FRIAI, Ian Pritchard Hon. MRIAI and RIAI President Charlotte Sheridan MRIAI

Recipient of the Honorary Member award, Ian Pritchard, is the current Secretary General of the Architects Council of Europe (ACE). He joined the ACE in 2012 from the Royal Institute of British Architects where he served as Director of International Relations and Regulation. Ian currently represents the ACE, supporting the development and the implementation of policies, campaigns and advocacy strategies

LR: RIAI President Charlotte Sheridan MRIAI, Monica von Schmalensee Hon. FRIAI and David Browne FRIAI

Monica von Schmalensee, the Recipient of the Honorary Fellowship, was the former CEO and now partner of White Arkitekter, the biggest architectural firm in Scandinavia. Monica has been a strategic advisor for the Swedish government as Deputy National Architect and President at the Council of Sustainable Cities. Some of her best known projects include Kista Science Tower and the Stockholm Arena. As CEO of White Arkitekter, she established the practice internationally and doubled its size to 900 people. Monica believes in human-centered design and that architecture and planning can change the quality of life in many ways.

Charlotte Sheridan, RIAI President, commented:


We are absolutely delighted to honour these very deserving recipients, for their outstanding contribution to the architecture profession.


After a significant delay due to COVID-19, we are thrilled to be welcoming Graham Doyle, Ian Pritchard and Monica von Schmalensee to the Irish Architectural Archive to receive their honours. By making honorary fellowships and memberships, the RIAI recognises people who have contributed to architecture at the broadest level, including through critical engagement, promotion, outreach, scholarship and education.


All of our recipients are extremely accomplished in their fields, and we are happy to bestow this honour to them.”


In addition to the three recipients present at the awards ceremony today, the RIAI elected the below recipients for Honorary Memberships and Honorary Fellowships in 2019 and 2021:

Honorary Fellowships

  • Matthias Sauerbruch, Sauerbruch Hutton Architects (2019)
  • Louisa Hutton, Sauerbruch Hutton Architects (2019)

Honorary Memberships

  • Edith Blennerhasset, Director ARUP (2019)
  • Sadie Morgan, Director dRMM Architects (2019)
  • Michael Likierman, President Cap Moderne (2021)
  • Mary Robinson, Adjunct Professor of Climate Justice, Trinity College Dublin (2021)

Honorary Fellowship is awarded to those who are architects not practicing in Ireland.
Honorary Membership is awarded to those who are not architects but have contributed to the wider built environment outside the profession.

For media queries, please contact:
Kelly French, Drury Kelly.french@drury.ie | 083 320 9740
Danielle Martin, Drury Danielle.martin@drury.ie | 086 776 1592

Follow us on Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn for regular updates: @RIAIonline