• 18 Jan 2024

Irish project, Annesley Gardens by Metropolitan Workshop shortlisted for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced 40 shortlisted works that will compete in the 2024 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Awards.

Congratulations to the Dublin office of Metropolitan Workshop – headed up by Jonny McKenna MRIAI and Denise Murray MRIAI on their success of being shortlisted with Annesley Gardens, which also won an RIAI Architecture Award. 

Annesley Gardens transformed a backland site into a residential street of 20 homes. Located in an Architectural conservation area the contemporary Architecture successfully integrates into the sensitive context not only in terms of its scale but also in its expression and brickwork detailing influenced by the surrounding Victorian Architecture. A shared surface street ensures quality of life takes precedence over vehicular movement. For more details on Annesley Gardens, click here.

Annesley Gardens by Metropolitan Workshop. Photo Ste Murray
Annesley Gardens by Metropolitan Workshop. Photo Ste Murray

The shortlist was announced by Barbara Nolan, Head of Representation, European Commission Ireland, at the opening event of the EUmies Awards Exhibition on 17 January, which is being presented at the Printworks, Dublin Castle by the RIAI. The jury met over three days in Barcelona to discuss the current state of Architecture considering Europe’s aim to lead on the one hand on high-quality Architecture for everyone and on the other hand, to lead the way on climate action and shape the green transition for the benefit of citizens and industries: the European Green Deal.

In the selection of 40, there are 14 different programs including Collective Housing, Cultural and Educational Buildings which account for half the selection and works which tackle with Food & Accommodation, Government & Civic, Health, Industry, Infrastructure, Landscape, Mixed use, Single house, Sport & Leisure, Ephemeral and Urban planning. They all create high-quality living environments for everyone. The shortlisted works are spread out in 38 European Cities in 33 Regions and 20 Countries.

Calendar and next steps

February 2024: The Finalists will be announced.
April 2024: The Architecture and Emerging Winners will be announced. 
May 2024: Awards ceremony at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.
The EUmies Awards Day that comprises the Awards Ceremony, will take place on mid May 2024 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, in a day-long-event that will include lectures by the authors of the winning and finalist works, discussions with the architects, clients, policymakers and jury members; the exhibition with the 362 works participating in the EUmies Awards 2024; and the events of the Barcelona Architecture Weeks.