Honorary Fellows

Honorary Fellows are entitled to use the affix Hon. FRIAI.

Persons not being in architectural practice in Ireland are awarded this title for their distinguished service to architecture or the allied arts and sciences. They shall be eligible to be associated with the Institute as Honorary Fellows without any contribution. Honorary Fellows shall not have any vote in affairs of the Institute but have the privilege of being present at general meetings of the Institute.

The following are Honorary Fellows of the RIAI:


  • David Chipperfield
  • John Cole
  • William John Cumming
  • Odile Decq
  • Kenneth Frampton
  • Jan Gehl
  • Piers Gough
  • Edward Jones
  • Edward McParland
  • Jose Moneo
  • Shane O'Toole
  • Professor Roger Stalley
  • John Worthington