Welcome, Guest  :  Login  |  Help  |  Contact Us


RIAI Holds First Advice Centre at the National Ploughing Championships

Published: Thursday, September 27, 2012


Dublin and New Ross, 27 September 2012. The Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland has participated for the first time with a free Advice Centre at the 2012 National Ploughing Championships. From Tuesday 25th to Thursday 27th September, the RIAI ran an Advice Centre at the show where the public can meet a registered architect for a 20-30 min consultation, completely for free.

The RIAI stand – including a display of award-winning residential projects from the RIAI Irish Architecture Awards - attracted strong interest from the public. Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, Phil Hogan also visited the stand and expressed his support for the profession.

The topics discussed in public consultations covered wide range of issues affecting rural communities and the expertise a Registered Architect can offer on these, including:

• Improving energy efficiency and reducing your utility bills
• Building a new home or extending your current home
• Planning applications and planning issues
• LEADER funding
• Registration of septic tanks
• Sustainable development and reuse of vacant buildings
• Rep 4 Traditional farm building grants
• Conservation issues

One of Europe’s largest Outdoor Exhibitions and Agricultural Trade Shows the National Ploughing Championships attracts on average 1,100 exhibitors and 189,000 visitors. This year’s National Ploughing Championships took take place from September 25th to 27th at Heathpark, New Ross, Co. Wexford

The support of O'Driscoll Furniture www.oddesign.com and McCreery Office Interiors www.mccreery.ie for the RIAI Stand is very much appreciated.

Participating RIAI Architects included: Michael Tierney, Helena Fitzgerald, Paula Mary Murphy, Laura Bowen, Shane Lenihan, Declan Clabby, Gerrard Hynes, Noel Quinn, Malcolm Pim, Paul McNally, Isabel Barros, Caroilin Liston, Zeno Winkens, Clodagh Nolan, Nicholas Mernagh, Lester Naughton, Mary Duggan and Greg Tisdall.


Categories: Architecture

« Back to Latest News