Welcome, Guest  :  Login  |  Help  |  Contact Us


Eight Projects by Irish Architects Compete for Mies van der Rohe 2015

Published: Tuesday, December 16, 2014

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe announced today the list of 420 projects competing for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture –Mies van der Rohe Award 2015. 27% of the proposals deal with Housing while 24% are Cultural facilities. 11% are connected to Education, 5% to Offices and the other 33% include mostly Sport, Commercial, Governmental, Transport and Urban typologies.

Initiated in 1987 after an agreement between the  European Commission  and  the Barcelona City Hall, the 60.000€ prize is the highest award in European architecture and is awarded biennially to works completed within the previous two years. The principal objectives are to recognise and commend excellence in the field of architecture and to draw attention to the important contribution  of European professionals in the development of new ideas and technologies and of the clients who support them.

Eight projects by Irish architects compete for the 2015 Mies van der Rohe Award  - five in Ireland, 2 in the UK and 1 in Norway.

The eight projects are (in alphabetical order):

Airfield Evolution, Solearth Architects (Lead Architects), Eunan McLoughlin Architects, PKA Architects and Dermot Foley Landscape Architecture

Bishop Edward King Chapel, Niall McLaughlin Architects

Coláiste Ailigh by McGarrry Ní ÉanaighArchitects

The Cow House by Michael Kelly and Dan Costelloe

Pulp Press by A2 Architects with John Gerrard

Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, LSE by O'Donnell + Tuomey Architects

University of Limerick, Medical School, Student Housing, Piazza and Pergola by Grafton Architects

Waterford Museum by Waterford County Architects

The Press Release can be down-loaded here

Objectives of the Prize

Architecture brings a significant contribution to a sustainable European economy and also to European cultural and social life, since it influences to a great extent the way people live, work and spend their leisure time, as well as their quality of life, even if awareness of this is not always high among the public.

The aim of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture is to highlight recent, excellent examples of architectural creativity of works which are less than two years old and to underline that modern architecture is socially and culturally rooted in European cities and is important to people's everyday lives.

To find out more:

Categories: Architecture | Awards

« Back to Latest News