• 19 Jun 2020

Public asked to pick the nation’s favourite building – from workplaces to wellbeing spaces, homes, museums and distilleries

Online voting for the 2020 #RIAIPublicChoice Award is now open. 

Dublin, May 19, 2020: The Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland (RIAI) has launched the Public Choice vote for Ireland’s favourite building, place or public space.
The Public Choice Award is an important element of the annual RIAI Architecture Awards, now in their 31st year, which acknowledge the importance of excellence in the design and delivery of buildings across categories such as Adaption & Re-Use, Cultural or Public Buildings, Learning Environments, Wellbeing, Public Spaces, Workplaces and Living, as well as International projects.

There are 33 projects on this year’s shortlist, all of which were designed by RIAI-registered architects and were completed in 2019.  The buildings are located in Cork, Dublin, Galway, Louth and Tyrone, as well as London and France. 

Online voting is now open, and all of the Public Choice projects are available to view on the RIAI website. Voting closes at midnight on Friday, 3rd July.  

Ciaran O’Connor, RIAI President, said: “Each of these projects is unique and addresses a particular set of challenges and opportunities. The jury looks for projects that have produced a creative, intelligent, innovative and quality design response to the brief.  The shortlist includes 33 projects from 129 entries and the range of projects demonstrates the important contribution that architecture makes to positively affect all areas of our lives – from our homes and workplaces, to our schools and cultural spaces and beyond. You have until midnight on Friday, July 3rd to vote for your favourite project.” 

Among the projects for the public to consider are: the adaption of the former Guinness Power House in Dublin; a health spa in Dublin; Cork’s Butter Museum; an Interpretation Project at Kylemore Abbey in Galway; a community project to support young people affected by social deprivation and drug abuse in Dublin, as well as a range of homes and housing developments across the country. 

The 2019 RIAI Irish Architecture Public Choice award winner was An Ríocht, Scoil Chríost Rí, Boys National School, Caherdavin, Limerick, designed by Drake Hourigan Architects.

Proudly supported by a number of Category Sponsors, the RIAI Irish Architecture Awards will be announced later in the year.  

The Jury members for the RIAI Irish Architecture Awards 2020 are:

  • Liam Tuite, FRIAI, Chair
  • Eugene Downes, Cultural Director, DFAT, distinguished guest juror
  • Susan Dawson, MRIAI
  • Ailish Drake, MRIAI
  • Rachel Dudley, MRIAI
  • David Magennis, MRIAI
  • Orla O’Callaghan, FRIAI
  • Michael Pike, MRIAI
  • Sally Starbuck, MRIAI
  • Gavin Wheatley, MRIAI


Vote for your favourite building


The RIAI would like to sincerely thank our award sponsors: Cabinpac, CEUD, Dulux Trade Ireland, Enterprise Ireland, Equitone, Kilsaran, Kingscourt Brick of Kingscourt Country Manor Bricks, The Arup Trust and Vandersanden of Kingscourt Country Manor Bricks.

RIAI Public Choice Shortlisted Projects are: 

Project Architect
2 x Brick Houses LUCA Architecture
51 A, B & C Dawson Street Paul Keogh Architects
A House, Coach House & Garden Culligan Architects
Blackrock House Scullion Architects
Candle Community McGarry Ní Éanaigh Architects
Cork Butter Museum Fit Out DATUM Architecture Studio & Stephen Foley Architects
Davagh Forest Observatory ARCEN Architects
Eden One Plus Architecture
Historic Leinster House Office of Public Works Architectural Services
IDA Global Headquarters MOLA Architecture
In, On and Over the Earth A2 Architects
Kenilworth Park Ryan W. Kennihan Architects
Kylemore Abbey Interpretation Project Axo Architects
Marianella O'Mahony Pike Architects
Marino Park Ryan W. Kennihan Architects
Mount Prospect GKMP Architects
Museum of Literature Ireland (MoLI) Scott Tallon Walker Architects
Office in the Trees LUCA Architecture
Operation Paris Saclay pour l’Institut Mines-Télécom Grafton Architects
Pavilion House Robert Bourke Architects
Rear Return A2 Architects
Roe and Co Distillery RKD Architects
Rosemount Court Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council Architects Department – DLR Architects
Sandford Park Schoolhouse - Le Peton Centre O'Donnell + Tuomey
Scoil Mhuire SJK Architects
St. Bartholomew's Church - Extensive Conservation Works Howley Hayes Architects
Tooting Meadow McKevitt King Architects
Toulouse School of Economics Grafton Architects
Trinity Business School Scott Tallon Walker Architects
Uncovered Façade Darmody Architecture
Whispering House - St. Columba's College Coady Architects
Woodruff Restaurant Fit-out Stephen Mulhall, nineteeneighty studio

For media queries, please contact:

Anna Kilpatrick, Drury Porter Novelli; 087 692 9458  
Grace Cooney, Drury Porter Novelli; 086 153 6886

About the RIAI
Founded in 1839, the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland supports and regulates the architectural profession and promotes the value that architecture brings to society for everyone’s benefit. Follow us on Twitter for regular updates: @RIAIonline