Welcome, Guest  :  Login  |  Help  |  Contact Us


Presentations by the Winning Entries in the Friendly & Inclusive Spaces Award

Published: Wednesday, September 06, 2017

Oral Presentations by the Winning Entries in the Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Award and Round Table Discussion
Architecture for All  Work Programme
Wednesday 6th September, 15:00-18:00, Room 317A (3F) at COEX

Oral Presentations Friendly and inclusive Spaces Awards

The UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards were founded to encourage and acknowledge architects who have created exemplary friendly, inclusive and accessible buildings and public spaces. Entries must demonstrate that they have met the highest standards of universal and inclusive design, where the realised designs contribute to the quality of life of all those who may use them.

Awards are given in four Categories: New Buildings, Public Spaces, Existing & Historic Buildings and Research. Entries were received from 28 countries across five continents. The Jury was impressed by the range of project types submitted and by the standard and quality of the shortlisted entries from the five regions.

The authors of the winning entries, both medal winners and honourable mentions, will present their projects and will then join in a round table discussion with members of the Jury. This session will be chaired by UIA Past President - Vassilis Sgoutas.

Oral Presentations by:

  • Segundo Cardona, Puerto Rico, on Paseo Puerta de Tierra
  • Sean Harrington, Ireland, on Malahide Parish Centre
  • Andreas Lampropoulos, Greece, on the Rehabilitation of Karpenisi Town Centre
  • Alice Yeung Lai-fong, Hong Kong, on Kwun Tong Promenade
  • Roberto Ameneiro Galdo, Bolivia, on Libertador Station, La Paz Teleferic System
  • Kensuke Aisaka, Japan, on Amanenomori Nursery School
  • Doan Ha, Vietnam, on BE Friendly Space
  • Kenneth Tse, Hong Kong, on Viva Blue House
  • Berta Brusilovsky Filer, Spain, on her research “A Model for the Design and Evaluation of Accessible Spaces and Participatory Methodology with Users, for the Easy Understanding of Environments and Buildings”.

Jury members Fionnuala Rogerson - Ireland, Krzysztof Chwalibog - Poland, Eduardo Elkouss - Spain, Joseph Kwan & Stephen Ho - Hong Kong, and Phillip Thompson - South Africa will join them in a Round Table Discussion.

http://www.uia-afa.net/  http://uiawpafa.hkia.net/

Categories: Architecture | Awards | Press Releases | RIAI Press Release

« Back to Latest News