Welcome, Guest  :  Login  |  Help  |  Contact Us


O’Donnell + Tuomey Win 2015 Brunner Prize in Architecture

Published: Wednesday, April 01, 2015

The American Academy of Arts and Letters announces the recipients of its 2015 architecture awards.  Multiple award-winning Dublin-based architects Sheila O'Donnell and John Tuomey win the 2015 Brunner Prize in Architecture.  The Arnold W. Brunner Memorial Prize in Architecture recognise the work of an architect of any nationality "who has made a significant contribution to architecture as an art."

Sheila O’Donnell & John Tuomey founded O’Donnell + Tuomey in 1988. They have built widely in Ireland, exhibited at the Venice Biennale, and received the 2015 Royal Gold Medal from the Royal Institute of British Architects. “The work of O'Donnell and Tuomey balances the hand and the heart,” said Billie Tsien. “When you enter their buildings you have a sense of comfort that comes from an architecture that treasures the intricacy and miracles of human interaction. Their buildings are beautifully conceived and beautifully made. Like reading the best poetry—they astound you in a quiet way.

Their projects include Glucksman Gallery, University College Cork, 2004; Sean O'Casey Community Centre, Dublin, 2008; Timberyard Social Housing, Dublin, 2009; Lyric Theatre, Belfast, 2011; and the London School of Economics Saw Swee Hock Students’ Centre, 2014. They are currently working on a master plan for the Central European University in Budapest.

Other winners of this year’s awards were Yolande Daniels & Sunil Bald and Kate Orff  from New York.  Arts and Letters Awards rewards American architects whose work is characterized by a strong personal direction. 


Image courtesy of www.artsandletters.org 

The winners on Two Arts and Letters Awards were Kurt W. Forster and Rosalie Genevro, New York. Two Arts and Letters Awards rewards American who explore ideas in architecture through any medium of expression. 


Image courtesy of www.artsandletters.org

The awards will be presented in New York City in May at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial. Work by the winners will be featured in an upcoming exhibition on view in the Academy’s galleries on Audubon Terrace.

The Academy’s annual architecture awards program began in 1955 with the inauguration of the Brunner Prize and has since expanded to include four Arts and Letters Awards. This year’s winners were chosen from a group of 41 individuals and practices nominated by the members of the Academy.

The jurors were: Henry N.Cobb, Elizabeth Diller (chairman), Peter Eisenman, Kenneth Frampton, Michael Graves, Richard Meier, Laurie Olin, Cesar Pelli, Billie Tsien, and Tod Williams.

For more information on the Awards, view the Press Release HERE.  .PDF (File size 52.1 KB)

Categories: Architecture | Awards

« Back to Latest News