Welcome, Guest  :  Login  |  Help  |  Contact Us


Minister Ruairi Quinn Announces Winner and Commended of RIAI DES Primary School Competition

Published: Friday, March 07, 2014

Ruairí Quinn T.D. Minister for Education & Skills has announced the winner and shortlisted entries for the RIAI DES competition 'Designing Primary Schools for 21st Century Learners'. The announcement took place at the Department of Education's conference Designing Primary Schools for 21st Century Learners, held in partnership with OECD and RIAI at the Printworks Conference Centre, Dublin Castle.

Gilroy McMahon Architects 

[image by Visual Labs]

DES primary School Competition

Gilroy McMahon

Second Place
Kim Dreyer Architects

DES primary School Competition

Kim Dreyer

Third Place
Coady Partnership Architects

DES Primary School Competition

Coady Partnership

Commended Entries

Avanti Architects

AVANTI Architects

John McLaughlin Architects

John mcLAughlin

John O'Neill & Associates

John O'Neill

Seán Harrington Architects

Sean Harrington

The Jury were:

Chair, Alastair Blyth, Architect ex OECD-CELE, UK
Angela Brady, Immediate Past President R.I.B.A., U.K.
Prof. Takahara Tezuka, Tokyo City University, Japan.
Reino Tapaninen, Chief Architect, Finnish National Board of Education, Finland.
Tony Sheppard, Technical Manager, DoES, Chair OECD-Centre for Effective Learning Environments (CELE)

Michel Lanners, Ministere de l’Education Nationelle et de la Formation Professionelle (MEN), Luxembourg.
Alison Drever,  specialist primary senior education officer,  Education Scotland.
Aine Lynch, Chairperson, National Parents Council Primary.
Dr. Anne O’Gara, President Marino Institute of Education, Dublin.
Pairic Clerkin, St. Patrick’s N.S., Diswellstown, Dubli
Diarmuid Dullaghann 15, Divisional Inspector, DoES

Categories: Architecture | Competitions | Event & Conferences

« Back to Latest News