Welcome, Guest  :  Login  |  Help  |  Contact Us


I. M. Pei Announced as 2014 UIA Gold Medal Recipient

Published: Thursday, June 05, 2014

I. M. Pei announced as 2014 UIA Gold Medal recipient

Image Sourcewww.uia2014durban.org 

World renowned architect, I. M. Pei, has been awarded the 2014 UIA Gold Medal in recognition of his remarkable contribution to the field of architecture.

The Gold Medal recognises a living architect for his outstanding achievement in architecture, as well as for his distinguished service to man and society. Other awards received by Pei over the years include the AIA Gold Medal in 1979, the Pritzker Prize in 1983, the first Praemium Imperiale for Architecture in 1989, and the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum in 2003.

The UIA Gold Medal is the highest honour that can be bestowed upon an architect by his fellow architects. Since 1984, the UIA has honoured eminent architects worldwide with the prize on the occasion of the UIA triennial world congresses.

The International Union of Architects represents 131 countries and 1.3 million individual architects worldwide. This year, the UIA World Congress will be held in Durban, South Africa, from 3-7 August.

To register for the Congress, visit uia2014durban

Categories: Architecture

« Back to Latest News