Welcome, Guest  :  Login  |  Help  |  Contact Us


Irish Architects Recognised at the Property Industry Excellence Awards 2017

Published: Monday, November 27, 2017

Irish architectural practices have featured strongly in this year’s Property Industry Excellence Awards 2017. Both the 2017 Overall Winner and the 2017 Outstanding Contribution to the Property Industry Award went to Grafton Architects while Henry J Lyons Architects received the Design Project of the Year Award for the Central Bank.

2017 KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Overall Award Winner + The 2017 Outstanding Contribution to The Property Industry Award: Grafton Architects 

800 of Ireland’s property industry stakeholders; commercial & residential agencies, developers, architects, designers, investment managers and contractors convened at the Convention Centre Dublin on Thursday 23 November for the announcement of the winners of the highly contested KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards.

Over 120 shortlisted nominations were judged across 11 categories where the standard of entries was considered extremely high by the judging panel.  Chaired by Professor Brian Norton, President of DIT, the judges comprised of leaders from related property professional bodies, including: Kathryn Megan, CEO of RIAI; Pat Davitt, CEO of IPAV and Tom Parlon, Director General of The CIF.

The 2017 Overall Winner Award went to Grafton Architects, founded by Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara. Grafton Architects also received The 2017 Outstanding Contribution To The Property Industry Award.

Grafton Architects are leading Irish architects with a global reputation. For almost 40 years, they have designed seminal public, cultural and educational buildings in Ireland. To this they have added international projects in Peru, Italy, France & UK. They extend practice to teaching and exhibiting and are curators of the 2018 Venice Architecture Biennale. Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara established Grafton Architects in 1978. Graduates of UCD, they were appointed adjunct Professors in 2015. They are Fellows of the RIAI who nominated them for the award, International Honorary Fellows of the RIBA and elected members of Aosdána. They have held the Kenzo Tange chair at GSD Harvard and the Louis Kahn chair at Yale University.

Grafton Architects won World Building of the Year in 2008 for the Bocconi University project in Milan.

All professional institutes, representative bodies and government agencies endorse the KPMG Irish Independent Property Excellence Awards. The Awards highlight, reward and celebrate excellence in the Irish property industry. Core to the success of the Awards is the integrity of the judging process and its commercial structure, which has ensured that the awards receive both the support and endorsement of the entire Irish property sector. No award recipient is permitted to sponsor any of the awards categories. Any profit raised by the awards programme is reinvested into the property industry through a Doctorate in Property Research.

2017 Property Awards

Speaking at the Awards, Paul Muldoon of INM, said, “While these awards are all about recognising excellence, there is also the very important educational element with the funding of the DIT Doctorate in Property Research which was awarded 2 years ago to Lorna Colley. Lorna is now mid way through her 4 year research period and having seen her progress to date I know that her overall findings will be fascinating for all to see.

As ever, I am extremely grateful to our sponsors KPMG, PINERGY and Eugene F Collins Solicitors for their continued support. I would also like to thank our Patrons – Hibernia REIT, Irish Life, Cosgrave Developments and Linesight who have been instrumental in the development of the aforementioned doctorate”.

2017 KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Award Winners:

Community Benefit Award
Tobin Engineering
Project: Sport Ireland National Indoor Arena

Design Project of The Year
Henry J Lyons,
Project: Central Bank of Ireland

Commercial Agency of The Year

Property Investment Fund Manager of The Year
Irish Life Investment Managers

Residential Agency of The Year
Hooke & MacDonald

Excellence in Planning Award
Cairn PLC,
Project: Marianella, Rathgar

Regional Excellence Award
Anderson Auctioneers

Contractor of The Year Award
John Paul Construction

Energy Efficiency Award
Cosgrave Developments,
Project: Cualanor, Dun Laoghaire

Emerging Talent Award
Joe McGinley, Iconic Offices
Roisin Lafferty, Kingston Lafferty Design

Outstanding Contribution To The Property Industry
Grafton Architects

2017 Overall Winner
Grafton Architects

Categories: Architecture | Awards | Press Releases

« Back to Latest News