Welcome, Guest  :  Login  |  Help  |  Contact Us


13 Projects by Irish Architects Nominated for the Mies van der Rohe Award 2017

Published: Thursday, January 05, 2017

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe has announced the list of 356 works competing for the 2017 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – the Mies van der Rohe Award. Among them are 13 Projects by Irish Architects with buildings located in Dublin, Cork, Roscommon, Waterford, Budapest, Faaborg (Denmark), Hampshire and London.“The nominated works are stimulating, innovative and have improved the existing conditions of their sites. They push boundaries and have set new standards based on strong collaborative and participatory strategies”, said Ivan Blasi, Coordinator of the Prize.

Projects in Ireland include:

• Folding House Ireland Cork – A2 Architects + TTT – (thirtythreetrees) Landscape Architects
• Roscommon Civic Offices – ABK Architects
• Waterford Fire Station – McCullough Mulvin Architects


• Model School Inchicore – Donaghy + Dimond
• dlrLexicon Central Library and Cultural Centre – Carr Cotter Naessens Architects
• St. Angela’s College Cork – O’Donnell + Tuomey


• Merrion Cricket Pavilion – TAKA
• Hazel Lane Mews Houses – Dublin Design Studio
• Brick House, Dalkey Avenue – de Blacam and Meagher Architects


Outside Ireland

• University of Greenwich – Heneghen Peng – London, UK
• Faaborg Harbour Bath –  JDSA/Julien De Smedt + URBAN AGENCY – Faaborg, Denmark


• Central European University in Budapest – O’Donnell + Tuomey – Budapest, Hungary
• The Fishing Hut - Níall McLaughlin Architects - Hampshire, UK


The Jury will meet in January and review the 356 works which have been nominated. They will use, drawings, photos, videos and texts sent by the authors of each work to select the 40 projects that they consider best represent the contemporary architectural scene in Europe. Afterwards they will choose the 5 most representative works that they will visit in April. This trip will be preceded by a series of lectures in which the authors of the 5 works will meet the architects responsible for the works, the clients, the users and the citizens of the cities. The granting ceremony with the Prize Winner and the Emerging Architect Winner will take place at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion, Barcelona, on May 26, 2017. Together with the ceremony the exhibition will be open and the publication released.

The 2015 winner was the Philharmonic Hall, Szczecin by Barozzi/Veiga with the collaboration of A4 studio. O'Donnell+Tuomey's Saw Swee Hock Student Centre for the London School of Economics was in the final five. 

The RIAI are a National Architecture Association nominator and individual nominators in Ireland are Shane O’Toole and Dr Sandra O'Connell.

About the Mies van der Rohe Award

Prize: The Prize Winner receives €60.000 and a sculpture that evokes the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion of Barcelona. Professionals starting out on their careers have the opportunity to become an Emerging Architect Winner, and receive the sculpture together with €20,000. The prestige of the Prize and the determination to disseminate the knowledge and savoir-faire of European architects is brought forward with the organization of exhibitions and debates worldwide, bringing architecture nearer to citizens.

History of the Prize: The idea for a Prize that would recognise and commend excellence in European architecture was proposed to the European Parliament by MP Xavier Rubert de Ventós. On April 28 1987 – just under a year after the reconstruction of the Pavilion was completed – an agreement was signed between European Commissioner Carlo Ripa di Meana and Barcelona Mayor Pasqual Maragall to launch the ‘Mies van der Rohe Award of the European Communities’, with the first biennial edition being held in 1988 as the ‘Mies van der Rohe Award for European Architecture’. In 2000 the Fundació Mies van der Rohe submitted the model of the Mies van der Rohe Award – with the addition of the Emerging Architect Special Mention that recognises the work of young professionals starting out on their careers – in response to the call for proposals by the European Commission for the ‘European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture’. Upon acceptance of the Fundació’s proposal, in 2001, the Mies van der Rohe Award became the official architecture prize of the European Union.

For more information see: http://miesarch.com/


« Back to Latest News